Slough Voluntary Sector Award Winners


Slough Council for Voluntary Service (CVS) is delighted to announce the Winners of the 2016 Voluntary Sector Awards.

Eagerly awaited Winners were announced at the glamorous 2016 Voluntary Sector Awards Evening on Friday 18th November at the Heathrow Windsor Marriott Hotel. Over 200 guests enjoyed a celebration of Volunteering designed to recognise and thank those who give so much time and commitment to help their community.

Volunteers, members of charities & community groups and business sponsors were wined and dined in style during an evening of fun and entertainment, which started with a champagne and chocolate fountain reception and ended with dancing into the early hours.
The evening was compered by Claire Giacobbe of Mars Chocolate UK, the main sponsor, and Jesal Dhokia of Slough CVS, with guests of honour The Mayor of Slough, Cllr Arvind Dhaliwal and Fiona Mactaggart, MP for Slough. Awards were presented by The Mayor and Business Sponsors, including Kier and E. Sargeant & Son, and the winning Charity of the Year also received a £1000 donation, donated by Rotary Club of Slough.

Many lucky guests also found themselves winners of raffle prizes, kindly donated by sponsors and local businesses, including a Marriott mini-break, Hilton Spa Day, events at Stoke Park and Windsor Racecourse and themed hampers (including KP Snacks and Mars).

Claire Giacobbe of Mars UK, said “We are delighted to be supporting this great event. We all need help when life gets challenging and most of our employees are local people. Many of them and their families are likely to be benefiting from the support and services given by some of these amazing charities.”

Ramesh Kukar, Chief Officer for Slough CVS, said “we are so grateful to our Business supporters. Without them there is no way we could run an event like this to thank all these wonderful local volunteers and charities. It’s such a pleasure to be able to invite them to an occasion like this and to honour their work for our community”.

Award Winners

Group of the Year Winners - Foodbank - Sue Sibany King -
Group of the Year – Runner Up - The Real Experience -
Group of the Year - Sewak - Parvinder Matharu – Highly Commended -

Volunteer of the Year – Winner – Rita Flanagan
Volunteer of the Year – Highly Commended - Jatinder Singh -
Volunteer of the Year – Highly Commended - Joyce Tesch -

Young Volunteer of the Year – Winner - Callam Fullam -
Young Volunteer of the Year - Highly Commended - Saleha Latif -
Young Volunteer of the Year - Highly Commended -Marya Nasim

Business Support of the Year – Winner - Mark Clements - E. Sargeant & Son -
Business Support of the Year – Highly Commended - Tom King – The Herschel Arms -

Add a Comment