Slough Honours Local Charity Heroes


Slough Council for Voluntary Service (CVS) is delighted today to provide details of the Winners of the 2017 Voluntary Sector Awards.

Eagerly awaited Winners were announced at the glamorous 2017 Voluntary Sector Awards Evening on Friday 17th Nov at the Heathrow Windsor Marriott Hotel. Over 200 guests enjoyed a celebration of Volunteering designed to recognise and thank those who give so much time and commitment to help their community.

Volunteers, members of charities & community groups and business sponsors were wined and dined in style during an evening of fun and entertainment, which started with a champagne and chocolate fountain reception and ended with dancing into the early hours.

The evening was compered by Jesal Dhokia and Ramesh Kukar of Slough CVS, with guests of honour The Mayor of Slough, Ishrat Shah and Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi, MP for Slough. Awards were presented by The Mayor and Business Sponsors, including Osborne and Mars Chocolate UK, and the winning Charity of the Year also received a £1000 donation, donated by Rotary Club of Slough.

Many lucky guests also found themselves winners of raffle prizes, kindly donated by sponsors and local businesses, including a Marriott mini-break and themed hampers.

Award Winners

Business Support of the Year
Winner Debenhams
Runner Up Cameron Clarke Lawyers
Runner Up U&I PLC and Bowmer & Kirkland

Young Volunteer of the Year
Winner Denesh Pawar
Runner Up Scott Biddle
Highly Commended Aneesa Hussain

SCVS Partnership Award
Winner Mental Health - Slough Locality Team
Runner Up Adult Social Care – Social Care Teams

Volunteer of the Year
Winner John Goudie
Highly Commended Jean Sinclair
Highly Commended Asa Marshal

Group of the Year
Winner Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust (Wexham Park Volunteers)
Runner Up Slough Youth Parliament
Highly Commended Jeena
Highly Commended SEWAK

Add a Comment